International Accounting Standards

International Accounting Standards

International Accounting Standards

International Accounting Standards (IASs) are a set of accounting standards that were issued between 1973 and 2001. In April 2001 the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) adopted all IASs and continued the development, calling new the standards International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRSs).

Although IAS's are no longer produced, they are still in effect unless replaced by an IFRS, whether in its entirety or part of.

International Financial Reporting Standards in a broad sense comprise:

Framework for the Preparation and Presentation of Financial Statements - stating basic principles and grounds of IFRS

IAS - standards issued before 2001

IFRS - standards issued after 2001

SIC - interpretations of accounting standards, giving specific guidance on unclear issues

IFRIC - newer interpretations, issued after 2001.

This consultancy was comissioned by CTA to provide analysis and input in order to evaluate the government of Mozambique’s accounting standards proposal: “Plano Geral de Contabilidade” - PGC.


Mozambique Accounting Standards

The information provided on this Web site is not official U.S. Government information and does not represent the views or positions of the U.S. Agency for International Development or the U.S. Government. This website is made possible by the support of the American People through the United States Agency for International Development (USAID.) The contents of this website are the sole responsibility of Nathan Associates Inc. and do not necessarily reflect the views of USAID or the United States Government